Ruling Party Aam Aadmi Party win 92 seats out of 117 (Government in Punjab)

The Aam Aadmi Party Punjab or AAP Punjab is the Punjab state wing of Aam Aadmi Party and a recognised State party in Punjab. Currently, it is the governing party in the Punjab Legislative Assembly and has significant representation of the state in Rajya Sabha.

The AAP fielded 434 candidates in the 2014 Indian general election. In its debut in Punjab, four AAP candidates from Punjab won the election out of 13. Consequently, the AAP became a recognised state party in Punjab.

In the 2017 Punjab assembly election, the party formed an alliance with the Lok Insaaf Party giving it five seats. No CM candidate was declared before the elections. This AAP Alliance won 22 seats in total, two of which were won by the Lok Insaaf Party. AAP won 20 seats in the Punjab Assembly in its debut in the 2017 Punjab elections.

The AAP contested on all 117 seats in the 2022 Punjab Legislative Assembly election and won 92 seats, giving it a large majority. AAP MP Bhagwant Mann became the Chief Minister of Punjab.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *